Recipe: Roasted Butternut Squash Soup

Mondays are my day to cook for friends, since I have the day off from my day job.

Yesterday, I made butternut squash soup, after ER and I went upstate for apple picking and came back with many apples, and… one squash.

I love making butternut squash soup, but it’s the biggest pain in the @$$ to crack that thing open and peel it. But its sweet, nutty flavor really makes me feel like it’s autumn. Luckily, I use a really easy route to getting the flesh out of my b-squash. Also, roast the seeds afterwards for a healthy, crunchy little snack.

I served it with some 3-cheese grilled cheese for my vegetarian girlfriend. (and a side of sauvignon blanc. it’s my day off! dont judge me!)

Ingredients
1 butternut squash (about 2 pounds)
1 tbsp brown sugar
1 tbsp olive oil
2 cloves of garlic, minced
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 medium onion, chopped
4 cups chicken stock
1 tsp ground cloves
1 cinnamon stick
1 thyme sprig, plus extra for garnish
Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Slice your squash lengthwise, then cut the halves in two. Sprinkle the fleshy side with brown sugar and drizzle olive oil. Cook for 25-30 minutes, til soft. Spoon the flesh out and put in a bowl to the side.

In large pot melt butter. Add onion and garlic and cook until translucent, about 8 minutes. (Alternatively, I like to roast my garlic with my squash and just add it to the food processor later).

Add squash, stock, cloves, thyme and cinnamon stick. Bring to a simmer and cook another 15. Remove cinnamon stick & thyme sprig.

Add the contents of your pot to a blender, food processor, or use an immersion blender and (duh) make it soupy.

Serve, top with sprinkle of salt, pepper, and some extra thyme leaves.

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Roasted Butternut Squash Soup

Leave a Reply

