Bloggin’ Again… With a Purpose. (AKA: How I Dealt W Morning Sickness)

My hubby and I announced our pregnancy to the world!

3 months pregnant

we also announced that we have finally left NYC and moved to the suburbs.

eric michelle new house

A lot of announcing at once, yes I know.

At 12 weeks, I feel it’s finally okay to start chronicling this journey called motherhood.

So far, I’ve had a pretty quintessential first trimester.

Morning sickness was awful. Combined with the fatigue it was much like being hungover for 2 months. But no matter how much Gatorade I chugged, and how much fried food I ate, I couldn’t beat the damn nausea. As a former wino, the feeling was so familiar, and so my inability to get rid of it was so disconcerting.

Anyway, my quick hangover morning sickness remedies for all you 1st trimester moms out there.
1. Ginger tea – Look it’s an ancient Asian remedy, yes… but I also found that the warmth of the tea itself was very soothing. Boil some ginger slices, add some honey and lemon, if you like, and then sip away. It will at least pretend to calm your stomach for a little while
2. Aromatherapy – Who knows if I’m just falling into a psychosomatic trap, but my friend Cindi gifted me this fantastic Earth Mama Angel Baby Morning Wellness spray. Basically it smells like ginger and citrus… So if you want to just sniff your tea, go for it.
3. Watermelon – or any super watery fruit that you like. Preferably something nostalgic that reminds you of a simpler time when you weren’t trying to grow a tiny human being inside you. It hydrates, (and thus is also good for your skin!) and will soothe.
4. Get a massage – Easy way out, but what the hell. The relief from all the rubbing will at least take your mind off the nausea. Also if you are battling major fatigue, this is a great way to get in a mid-day nap.

These are the 4 things that worked for me. Most everything else that people recommended did jacksh*t. Those car sickness bands that dig into your wrist, magnesium supplements, taking a “brisk walk” (wth is that?), deep breathing (well, this helped a little… like for the duration of the breath).

But my real take away from this was that you have to try everything, and byt he time you are ALMOST done with your first trimester, you will find out what works. At least you can save the knowledge for the next baby.

Also, now that I think of it, all those rememdies would also work for a hangover.

Leave a Reply

